A brief update from the United Kingdom

Posted: July 11, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Good morning everyone, and greetings from Leeds. I haven’t had much time to write, or subsequently much access to the internet, in the last week or so, so I will send reports as I can. Currently I am in Leeds, where the weather is cool, partly cloudy/sunny (depending on if you’re a glass-half-full kind of person), and looking forward to a variety of excellent sessions. Today I plan on going to a couple crusades sessions, and finish with a 14th-century English warfare session (nothing like a dissertation-topical session), followed by my round table this evening.  A full day.

The London SSCLE crusades symposium was an extraordinary time, and I feel very lucky to have been allowed to participate. Everyone was very collegial and friendly, and my paper was very well received. Even better, I got excellent critiques and feedback–not superficial stuff, or pedantic, but sold, in-depth questions and criticisms that are already making it a better project. It was also wonderful to hear what other folks were working on, to share ideas and questions, problems, and insights, and to meet new people and make new friends. All in all, it was a wonderful, if intense and exhausting, event, and Jochen Schenk, William Purkis and Jonathan Phillips deserve our thanks.

Unfortunately, time constraints will prevent me from posting my notes of the event till next week–but details will be forthcoming, I assure you!  In the mean time, I should get ready for the first session…

Leave a Reply

